Skip to content

It’s all over, Black Caviar retires, farewell champ

April 17, 2013
black caviar

Black Caviar winning the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes 2013

That’s it. 17 April 2013, it’s all over. After 25 wins from 25 races, Black Caviar, Australia’s greatest sprinting racehorse ever, and in the top 3 of all horses, has been retired.

It’s sad. The trainer, Peter Moody, always said Black Caviar would retire once she’s had enough, or performances were beginning to drop. She could easily have come back for the spring and next autumn and pushed her tally beyond thirty – a much grander milestone. Probably the stress on the owners is the real issue.

The worst case scenario is a public tragedy befalls the horse, breaking a leg in a race, then she’s put down. It would be mass hysteria. Of course, she’s just as likely to die in foal or in a paddock accident. In private, doing regular horse things, that’s almost forgivable.

I’m just grateful I saw her 3 times. First was 2012 C F Orr Stakes, then the Lightning Stakes, then this year’s Lightning. The 2012 Lightning is definitely the highlight, given the 1 week break from the Orr, dropping in distance, and then beating Hay List at his absolute best. Farewell champ.

Starts: 25. Wins: 25
Group 1 wins: 15 (Australian record)
Prizemoney: $7,953,936 (Australian record for sprinter)
Distance range: 1000m-1400m
Winning jockeys: Luke Nolen (22), Jarrad Noske (2), Ben Melham (1)
Trainer: Peter Moody
First race: Cromwell Handicap (1000m) at Flemington, April 18, 2009
Last race: T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick, April 13, 2013

Diamond Jubilee Stakes (ENG/2012)
VRC Newmarket Handicap (2011)
VRC Lightning Stakes (2011-13)
VRC Patinack Farm Classic (2010-11)
ATC T J Smith Stakes (2011, 2013)
MVRC William Reid Stakes (2011, 2013)
BTC Cup (2011)
MRC C F Orr Stakes (2012)
MVRC Australia Stakes (2010, 2012)
MRC Schillaci Stakes (2010-11)
MVRC Schweppes Stakes (2010-11)
VRC Danehill Stakes (2009)
World Champion Sprinter (2010-12)
Australian Racehorse of the Year (2011-12)
European Champion Sprinter (2012)
Australian Champion sprinter (2011-12)

From → Melbourne Cup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: